Sports Star Awards Winners Announced

Sports Star Awards

The Leitrim Sports Star Awards 2019 took place on Saturday last November 23rd in the Lough Rynn Castle Hotel, Mohill. We are delighted to reveal the winners amongst nominees as follows:

Juvenile Team of the Year:            Manorhamilton Rangers under 16s

Sports Individual Junior:                Allanah McGuinness

Primary School Teacher:                Edel McCartin

Secondary School Teacher:          Anthony McDonald

Sports Individual Senior:             Colm Moreton

Team of the Year:                          Leitrim Hurlers Senior Team

Volunteer of the Year:                   James Junior Hazlett

Special Achievement:                    Flo Beo Swim team

Coach of the Year:                            Terry Hyland

Club of the Year:                                 Glencar-Manorhamilton GAA

Unsung Hero WINNER – Mark McGowan & Francis Flynn


Hall of Fame WINNER – Micky Martin

Leitrim’s Sports Person of the Year 2019: Gerard O’Donnell

Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised. Each winner received a specially handcrafted award presented by each of our generous sponsors.

Our special guest on the night was Donegal adventurer Jason Black and he really captured the audience while telling his story. We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors for their generous support – Leitrim County Council, Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, The Landmark Hotel, Leitrim County Enterprise Fund, Aura Leitrim Leisure, First Response Safety Training, Leitrim Physiotherapy Opera Ristorante & Four Seasons Carrick Guest Accomodation, Fit Kicks & DPS Print.

View Leitrim Sports for more photos taken on the night.


  • EU Sturctural Fund
  • European Union
  • Leitrim Sports