Leitrim’s Masters Soccer League

Leitrim Masters Launch

Leitrim’s Masters Soccer League

The Football Association of Ireland and Leitrim Sports Partnership have teamed up to create a 6-a-side Leitrim’s Masters League and give men over 40’s opportunity to relive their youth and play the beautiful game again.

The aim of this programme is to reactivate and engage men who have dropped out of team sports and physical activity and our looking to get fit, lose weight and improve their overall health and fitness once again. This project gives local men over 40, the perfect opportunity to engage in sport and physical activity in the form of soccer in a fun and friendly environment. So don’t miss this wonderful opportunity to get involved in this exciting soccer initiative. Remember” it’s never too late to get Active’’.

‘This was partnership initiative between the FAI, Leitrim County Council and Drumshanbo Community Centre Development LTD’ states Declan Boyle, the co-ordinator of the Leitrim Sports Partnership. “For men who no longer play, this is a great way to get involved in team sports again” stated Damon Kearney, Leitrim County Council/FAI Community Soccer Officer adding that “Soccer not only gives you the buzz of playing competitive sport and is a fun way of keeping fit as part of a healthy lifestyle.”

The FAI/LSP Leitrim Masters League started in Drumshanbo Astro Pitch (beside the Mayflower), on Friday the 8th March  last and will run for eight weeks each Friday from 7pm to 9pm.The format is simple, each team for 7 consecutive weeks will play against different opposition in a bid to finish in the top four to qualify for the Semi Finals and Final in bid to be crowned the first ever FAI/LSP Master's Soccer League Champions.

To receive more information for this excellent initiative, Please contact the Leitrim Sport Partnership on 071 9650498 or email sports@leitrimcoco.ieor Damon Kearney on 0877728173 or damon.kearney@fai.ie


Abbey Rovers Squad:

Damien Gilheany, Michael McGovern, Paddy Connaughton, Eunan Sweeney. Adrian Cullen, Conor Monaghan, Niall Gallogly, Peter Prior

N L Galaxy All Stars Squad:

Hugo Clancy, Joe Keaney, Helder Oliveira, Ciaran Rock, Mark Brooks, Fred Kavanagh, Nigel mc williams, Billy Brick

Wrong Direction Squad:

Garreth McDaid, Gerry Doyle, Frank Haupt, Leon Quinn, Fergal Donlon, Michael McGrath, George McCormack, Allen Cox

Leitrim Villa Squad

Enda Maxwell, Gino McPartland, Mick Blake, Tommy Flynn, Mel O'Brien, Michael Sheehan, Liam Doherty, Brian Nolan

Gaels United Squad:

Dermot McDonagh, Noel Moran, Junior O Donnell, Jimmy Egan, John Casey, Fergal McPartland, Neil Nolan, John Nolan

Sheemore Rovers:

Miceal Bohan, Paraic Gilheany, Kevin Doonan, Gerry Winters, Shane O’Rourke, James McGowan, Bobby O’Rourke, Micheal Smith


Angus Fee, Stephen McWeeney, Patrick McManus, Hugh McGovern, Pauric Kenny, John Moran, Farrel McKeon, Liam Moran

Drumkerran United: Michael McGovern, John McPartland, Gabriel McKenna, Richard McTiernan, James Hazlett, David McManus, Padraig Fallon, Noel Flynn, John Langan

  • EU Sturctural Fund
  • European Union